Home Events Of The Week These are the finalists for Nigeria’s foremost Slam Poetry Competition – War...

These are the finalists for Nigeria’s foremost Slam Poetry Competition – War Of Words Season 7 #WarOfWords7



Group 1 Group 2 Group 3 Group 4
1 Adigun Olusola (Seeded – 1st runner up WOW5) Habeeb Ajijola (Seeded – 2nd runner up WOW6) Poetic Samurai (Seeded – 1st runner up WOW4) Wayne Samuel (Seeded – Winner WOW6)
2 Blue Flames Toby Penpriest Yusuf Gemini Balogun Matthew Otor
3 Tega Cross  ChidinmaR Yusuf Adetona Opeoluwa Olatunbosun
4 Vicadex Ochez KadA ShammaH Logo Da Pogo
5 Ikomu David aka KCPWESH Chimezie Bright aka Bwrite Sifon Ediomo-Abasi Isaac Daniel
6 Prosper Nafama Wusa (WOW AFRICA) Akharia Success Oludasa
7 Ojumu Samuel (WOW AFRICA) Jay Speaks Poetic Apostle Hossein the poet
8 Sunday Oyinmiebi Faruq Alli Jimpoet JYC
9 Ikechukwu Smith Oyedokun Ibukun Ibrahim Ihaji Chioma Ibegbunam
10 Anthony Alexz Tiwistar Makanjuola Favee Dian
11 Titi Matthew Ara Obafemi Thanni Mona Silver
12 Emmanuel Sanusi Cephas Cynthia Ekeka Muhammad Nadhir


The main event (on stage performance of the finalists) is scheduled to hold over 6 weeks and will feature the finalists in 4 quarterfinals, one semifinal and a Grand Final.

The schedule of events will holds as follows:



The Quarter Final for Group 1 hold on Sunday September 9, 2018.

The Quarter Final for Group 2 hold on Sunday September 16, 2018.

The Quarter Final for Group 3 hold on Sunday September 23, 2018.

The Quarter Final for Group 4 hold on Sunday September 30, 2018.

The quarterfinal will have 3 rounds and six poets will advance from each group into the Semi Final making a total of 24 poets that will compete in the semi final. The top five poets automatically qualify from each group, while the sixth spot will be decided between the 6th and 7th placed poets via online voting on Twitter.




The Semi Final holds on Sunday October 14, 2018.

The 24 poets that qualify from the Quarter Finals will be divided into two groups and will “face-off” against one another in the Semifinal. One versus one, one round, one poem and only 12 poets advance to the Grand Final. 




The Grand Final holds on Sunday October 28, 2018.

The 12 poets that qualify from the Semi Final will compete in 3 rounds to determine the winner.




The KÖNA Recreative Hub,
1, Ebunolu Adegboruwa Lane,
Off Freedom Way,
Lekki Phase 1, Lagos State.

Directions: From Lekki Phase 1 gate, take a bike/ Keke Marwa/ jog or drive down to the last junction of Admiralty Way i.e. the end of Admiralty Way which is opposite The Present House Church aka The DOME. Then turn left and look out for Ebunolu Adegboruwa Lane on your right. KÖNA Recreative Hub is the first building by the left, Number One.




2pm to 6pm on each day.



Free, just register at the gate and buy yourself a drink.



Leave a Reply