Artmosphere, one of Nigeria’s most consistent and engaging literary and arts event will play host to award winning writer, Amu Nnadi at its December edition. Tagged “Wordcastles”, the event comes up on Saturday, December 14, 2013, at the NuStreams Conference Centre, Alalubosa GRA, Ibadan. Artmosphere_Dec_2013

The evening will commence at 3pm with poet and winner of the 2013 ANA Poetry Prize, Amu Nnadi reading from his new poetry collection, Through the Window of a Sandcastle. This will be followed by panel discussions, music as well as the announcement of the winner of the 2013 PEN Nigeria/Saraba Poetry Prize.

For WriteHouse, our mission has always been to help nurture and deepen growth in Nigeria’s creative industry by facilitating new and innovative media platforms for the development and promotion of literature, arts and culture. We are therefore excited to be working in partnership with the Saraba team on this event.

Amu Nnadi

Amu NnadiAmu Nnadi is a public relations practitioner and a former deputy editor of the Timesweek Newsweek Magazine. His debut collection of poetry was 1997‘s Broken Petals. He won the 2002 ANA/Gabriel Okara Prize for Poetry for his collection The Fire Within and was shortlisted for the 2005 NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature for his third collection of poems, Pilgrim’s Passage.  His forth collection of poems, Through the Window of a Sandcastle was shortlisted for the 2013 Nigeria Prize for Literature and won the 2013 ANA Poetry Prize.  Amu Nnadi is a member of the Association of Nigerian Authors [ANA], the Nigerian Union of Journalists [NUJ], the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria [SWAN] and the African Literature Association [ALA]. He lives in Port Harcourt and is working on his debut novel.

Through the Window of a Sandcastle

The PEN Nigeria/Saraba Poetry Prize

The PEN Nigeria/Saraba Poetry Prize 2013 shall be awarded to the writer of the winning poem selected from all poems published in Saraba in 2012. The Prize shall be awarded only to Nigerian writers living in Nigeria at the time of publication of the poem. The publishers and poetry editor of Saraba have made a longlist of five poems, from which Jumoke Verissimo will make a shortlist of three poems. The winning poem will be chosen by Chuma Nwokolo who is the judge for 2013.

There shall be an award-giving ceremony on Saturday, December 14, 2013 where the winning poem shall be announced. The award-giving ceremony is planned as part of the December edition of Artmosphere. The winner shall be awarded the sum of 60,000 Naira (endowed jointly by PEN Nigeria Chapter and Saraba) while the two other shortlisted poets shall receive the sum of 15,000 Naira each (endowed by Saraba).

The Longlist includes:

1. “Tales One Shouldn’t Tell Often” —Su’eddie Vershima Agema

2. “Masquerades” —Frank-Ito Hilary

3. “What Caused the Maiden’s Laughter?” —Joshua Osemenho

4. “Intervention” —Uchechukwu Agodom

5. “The Old Riverbank” —Tonye Willie-Pepple

Previous winners of the Prize include Omale Abdul-Jabbar (2011) and Kolade Ajayi (2012).

Leave a Reply